🦸‍♀️ Queens of the Kingdom: Val_Kyrie

Crazy Cat Lad
Crazy Cat Lad Posts: 14,123 Community Manager
edited March 2020 in Discussions
New to the Community? Register here in just 2 seconds!

As part of our Women's Month celebration in the Community, we've interviewed some of the most interesting Queens of the Kingdom. Here's one of those interviews! Sit back and get ready for some girl power!

"Don’t let anybody tell you that you don’t belong in this space. You are needed in this space."

Wanna meet our game and narrative designer @Val_Kyrie ? Among her responsibilities at King, there's the game and system design, as well as the development of the background stories, plots and character biographies, and the dialogue and in-game texts.

Let's pass the mic to her:

"Hey everyone, I‘m Val! I’m a game designer and narrative designer on Candy Crush Saga and Jelly."

💫 What was your dream job as a child?

I wanted to become a comic artist. Now I apply that passion for storytelling to games.

💫 What do you like about your job and working at King? 

I work in a very international, talented and friendly team. Every new challenge is tackled with passion, sensibility and teamwork. I learn a lot about the medium everyday – may that be while working or during lunch break, talking about the newest games! King is very dedicated to helping their employees grow, and that shows on a day-to-day basis.

💫 What are challenges women face in the gaming industry?

It’s the usual. Having to work twice as hard to get half the credit. Being underestimated, having opinions questioned and getting less speaking time during meetings and events. A lot of game design philosophies have been built under the assumption that your target audience is always male (which is absolutely not true) – and alternative approaches can be undervalued or ignored. This is true to varying degrees, depending on the company you’re in, and it’s getting better. I’ve had a very positive experience working at King.