New feature - Mr Toffee's Fair!

Options

Comments

• candysodacrusher
    candysodacrusher Posts: 234 Level 3
    Options
     I have been playing Soda for about four years.  It takes a lot of creativity on the part of the developers to create a game that can hold a players interest for such a long period of time.  Kudos to the development team for that.  Even when I’d get stuck on a level for many days, or perhaps even weeks (yes, weeks) there was always something to play for:  Bubblegum Hill, the daily bonus, Rainbow Road, the treasure chests, or gifts on the map or whatever you want to call them, and the quests.  Between Bubblegum Hill and the quests, I was always able to build up enough boosters to make it through to the next level.  There was even a time when I had completed all the available levels and would anxiously await updates with new levels.  I would go back to level one and play to see how far I could get without losing a life.  It was FUN!  

Then came Mr. Toffee’s Fair.  It didn’t take long to see the obvious problems (which have been enumerated over 68 pages of posts on this board alone) with this event.  It didn’t take long to realize that this event was a not so subtle encouragement to force players into buying boosters.  

We we keep hearing that “data” is been analyzed by the developers.  Fair enough.  But anyone who has worked with “data” knows that data can be manipulated to show what you want it to show.  So the question becomes, what data is most important?  Data that shows how much time players spend on the game?  Data that shows the number of players purchasing boosters?  Data the shows the number of players actively participating in MTF?  Data that shows changes in player behavior?